Welcome! be.brussels will soon be replaced by a new site containing even more information about your Region!
You are here: Home / About the Region / The Communes of the Brussels-Capital Region

The communes of the Brussels-Capital Region

The 19 communes of the Brussels-Capital Region are often the first point of contact for citizens
The commune, the home of all citizens, manages matters relating to the daily life of the inhabitants of Brussels and the communal territory. In the Brussels-Capital Region the 19 communes play an essential role in urban governance.

For citizens the communes are the basic political body that is closest to their daily lives. It is where citizens are registered or resident, it is where they make use of administrative services, where they vote. The commune offers citizens an impressive range of services.

This subsection provides a description of what communes do and how communes are organised.

To find the contact details of your communal administration, police zone or CPAS, click the map below.

Ixelles Saint-Gilles Watermael-Boitsfort Ixelles Auderghem Etterbeek Woluwe-Saint-Pierre Woluwe-Saint-Lambert Schaerbeek Saint-Josse-ten-Noode Evere City of Brussels Koekelberg Jette Ganshoren Berchem-Sainte-Agathe Molenbeek-Saint-Jean Anderlecht Forest Uccle

In the interests of improving how they welcome, inform and serve citizens the communes provide administrative services online, through their own websites and IRISbox, the e-government service of the Brussels-Capital Region.
Moreover, you can find the communal regulations within the Region on Editoria, the website for publications in the Brussels-Capital Region.
Brulocalis (formerly (formerly Association of the City and Communes of the Brussels-Capital Region) is a non-profit organisation serving the Region’s local authorities. It works to strengthen the role of the 19 communes in overall decision-making and create better synergy at local level.

Brussels Local Authorities

On the website of Brussels Local Authorities you can find detailed information on the communes (FR/NL).

Information updated on 1 December 2020

Any questions about this website