Welcome! be.brussels will soon be replaced by a new site containing even more information about your Region!
You are here: Home / About the Region / The community institutions of Brussels

The community institutions in Brussels

Three community commissions have been created to implement the policy with regard to community responsibilities on the territory of the Brussels-Capital Region.
Because it is made up of both French and Dutch speakers the Brussels-Capital Region is officially bilingual. Each of these communities pursues its own policies with regard to community responsibilities on the territory of the Brussels-Capital Region (such as culture, education, health care, assistance). To this end, they have established three Community institutions in Brussels.

A brief clarification

Belgium is a federal state made up of a federal level, three communities and three regions.

  • The three regions of Belgium (the Walloon Region, the Flemish Region and the Brussels-Capital Region) are the competent authorities for territory-related matters (such as urban development, transport and the environment)
  • The three communities of Belgium (the French Community, the Flemish Community and the German-speaking Community) are responsible for more individual and linguistic matters (such as teaching, culture, health care and assistance)

As a consequence, the territory of the Brussels-Capital Region is occupied by two communities: the French Community and the Flemish Community. This led to the establishment of special community commissions in Brussels.

Three community commissions

To exercise community responsibilities at the Brussels-Capital Region, the following community commissions have been created:

The action of the communities is based on the principle that there is no such thing as a "sub-nationality". The inhabitants of the Brussels-Capital Region cannot be obliged to make a choice between one of the two communities to access the services of this community.

Any questions about this website